Expert Evaluation of the Quality of a Translation

It may happen that you are not fully satisfied with a translation of certain documentation into a foreign language done for you by some other agency. Something may be wrong with it. You are unable to figure out what it is, as you lack the knowledge of the subject or aren’t sufficiently proficient in the language of the original. Or you do see that the translation is poor but are unable to point those imperfections out for those very reasons. Or the person who handled the translation claims that the translation is correct and demands that you pay for the job in full, and you believe that’s far from being true and don’t wish to pay for a poor job like that. So what should you do? In such cases, there is a solution – to contact a third party, an independent expert, with a request to evaluate the quality of a translation and conduct an expert assessment of its quality.
LinguaContact can help you with that. How do we do it? First, there are two ways of conducting an evaluation — by random check, when an expert can draw a conclusion after having analyzed a portion of the text in question (and, if necessary, draw a general conclusion on its quality), or by comprehensive check (when dealing with particularly demanding translation jobs, when each error can virtually become a “matter of life and death”, as is the case with, for instance, medical, legal, or financial documents).
Having conducted such an evaluation, the expert (in our case, an editor) prepares a report by filling out a special form, with a conclusion being drawn based on the following evaluation criteria:
— the accuracy of having delivered the purport of the original text;
— the accuracy of having used the special terminology and met the client’s requirements in this regard, as well as the consistency of using it;
— correctness in terms of grammar and punctuation;
— the conformity of the translation job’s style to linguistic norms, context and the client’s requirements;
— conformity to conventional rules in terms of the use of dates, currencies, addresses, special abbreviations, etc.
In addition, a report can list the most typical mistakes and contain a bottom-line grade for the quality of the translation job.
This having been done, the results are submitted back to you for you to decide what to do with the job next — make amendments to it, make partial changes to it, or just trash it and re-order the whole thing for all it’s worth, as well as form an opinion about the agency you are using.
We guarantee objectiveness and total impartiality in evaluating any given translation job.
— A sample evaluation of up to 2 pages (English) — 2000 rubles (inclusive of a general analysis of the translation and identification of a representative object to be evaluated).
— A full evaluation — from 50 to 200% of the cost of the translation depending on the quality of the translation.

See also:
Editing / Proofreading

ISO 9001:2011

"Alba Longa" translation company was certified to the international quality standard ISO 9001: 2011

Great job

★★★★★
LinguaContact (ex. Alba Longa) provided me interpreting services in December 2014, and it was satisfactory in terms of quality of the interpreter’s work, and punctuality of the manager. The interpreters of LinguaContact have lots of experience in many fields, are confident and courteous. Furthermore, the manager in LinguaContact is punctual, precise, and supportive. They do an excellent job and offer the most customer-oriented service in Saint Petersburg region. I can confidently recommend LinguaContact as a trustworthy and reliable interpretation service company, with experts in their field.”
- Eunji Lee, Samsung Bioepis - Global Network Specialist

Expression of gratitude

★★★★★
We would like to thank LinguaContact translation company (ex. Alba Longa) for our fruitful cooperation in translation and subtitling of TV shows. While working on the project, LinguaContact proved to be an accurate, goal-oriented and highly responsive team of professionals.”
- T.V. Zubov, Head of Line Production Department (Comedy Club Production)

Menu

Экспертная оценка качества перевода

Внимание! Мы гарантируем независимую и незаинтересованную оценку!

Случается так, что заказанный Вами в какой-нибудь сторонней организации перевод документации с иностранного языка вас не устраивает. Что-то в нем не так. Определить, что именно, мешает незнание или недостаточное знание языка оригинала. Или Вы все-таки видите, что перевод выполнен плохо, но указать конкретные ошибки не можете в силу тех же причин. Или исполнитель перевода утверждает, что все сделал правильно и требует с Вас полной оплаты перевода, а Вы видите, что это далеко не так, и платить за «халтуру» не хотите. Как быть? В таких случаях есть выход – обратиться к нейтральной третьей стороне, независимому эксперту, с просьбой оценить качество перевода и провести экспертную оценку его качества (LQA: linguistic quality audit).
Компания «ЛингваКонтакт» может предоставить вам и такую услугу. Как это делается? Во-первых, бывает два вида оценки — на основании выборочной проверки, когда заключение эксперта дается после анализа им части текста перевода (при необходимости дать общее заключение о его качестве), или по результатам полной проверки (в случае крайне ответственного перевода, когда каждая ошибка может стать буквально «вопросом жизни и смерти», например, в медицинских, юридических или финансовых документах).
Проведя такую оценку, эксперт (в нашем случае редактор) составляет отчет, заполняя специальную форму, в которой он оценивает перевод по нескольким критериям:
— точность передачи смысла оригинала;
— точность передачи специальной терминологии и соответствие этой передачи требованиям заказчика, а также последовательность ее употребления;
— правильность с точки зрения грамматики и пунктуации;
— соответствие стиля перевода языковым нормам, контексту и требованиям заказчика;
— соответствие принятым особенностям обозначений дат, валют, адресов, специфических сокращений и т.д.
Кроме того в отчете могут быть приведены наиболее характерные ошибки и дана итоговая оценка качества перевода.
После проведения такой работы ее результат передается Вам для того, чтобы Вы могли принять решение, что делать с переводом дальше — вносить в него правки, частично переделывать или выбросить в помойное ведро и заказать заново, а также сформировать своё мнение о Вашем поставщике переводческих услуг.
Мы гарантируем объективность и полную беспристрастность выполняемой оценки.

Варианты проведения экспертизы:

Выборочная оценка до 2 стр. (английский язык) — 2000 рублей (включая общий анализ перевода и выбор репрезентативного объекта самой оценки).
Вот как выглядит итоговая таблица по результату проведенной экспертизы:

скриншот 1:
пример2

скриншот 2:

пример

Общая оценка. Экспертный комментарий профессионального переводчика по качеству выполненного перевода. Объем комментария — 1 страница. Стоимость услуги: от 2000 рублей за страницу (1800 знаков с пробелами).

См. также
Редактура / корректура.
Классификация ошибок

ISO 9001:2011

Система менеджмента качества сертифицирована по международному стандарту ISO 9001:2011

Высококачественные услуги

★★★★★
Благодарим бюро переводов "ЛингваКонтакт" за оказание качественных услуг по синхронному русско-китайскому переводу. Хочется отметить индивидуальный подход, оперативность принятия решений, подбор высококвалифицированных переводчиков и гарантированное выполнение взятых обязательств. ”
- АУ Чувашской Республики "РБИ" Минэкономразвития Чувашии

Expression of gratitude

★★★★★
We would like to thank LinguaContact translation company for our fruitful cooperation in translation and subtitling of TV shows. While working on the project, LinguaContact proved to be an accurate, goal-oriented and highly responsive team of professionals.”
- T.V. Zubov, Head of Line Production Department (Comedy Club Production)

Menu