Translation Memory Technology

In this age of information technology influx and unprecedented close interconnection between seemingly very distant cultures, the demand for quick and qualified translation services becomes more and more pressing. And it is no wonder that the written translation that has been only recently considered as the field of exclusive application of human intelligence, began to change, slowly but notably, since the first computers appeared. It could not have been otherwise because labor-saving and constant search of new solutions is part of the human nature.
As it often happens, technical progress in communications not only offered new problems to human kind but also brought the means for their solutions. In the written translation such solutions were realized in the Translation Memory (ТМ) using CAT (computer assisted translation).

translation memory

It is significant that the means of computer assisted translation on no account may be mixed up with computer translation. These are two entirely different approaches to computer translation automation, two totally distinct philosophies of translation process. In case of computer translation the whole translation from beginning to end is done by computer with the use of dictionaries and algorithms at its disposal. Subsequently, the result of such work is far from a quality translation, simply because the artificial intelligence has not yet been invented. In the other case only the tools are used that facilitate and quicken traditional process of human translating, which is performed and controlled directly by the translator. The LinguaContact translation company has never used and does not use the computer translations.

Translation Memory (TM) is a database that keeps all the previous translations made with its use. For translator’s convenience, the programs using Translation Memory technology divide text into the so called segments, i.e. text sections, the original and translated versions of which are stored in memory. The segmentation unit (minimal unit of translation) for such programs usually is a sentence or a part of a complex sentence, but depending on settings it could be also a word, a phrase or a whole paragraph.

Most of the computer aided translation programs work very simply: in the course of translation the program, firstly, “remembers” all translations of segments confirmed by the translator and, secondly, continuously compares each new untranslated segment with the ones already stored in the translation memory, and if identical or similar segment is found, the program “reminds” its translation. Thus, the translator needs only to confirm the translation offered by the program or change/update it according to the context.

Except for creation of translation memory and operations with it the modern programs for computer-aided translation also allow to:
— create and use glossaries and user dictionaries;
— create translation memories on the basis of the pairs from previously translated texts without using the means of computer-aided translation;
— analyze the text and make a selection from its key words that later may be added to glossaries;
— perform so called pretranslation based on existing translation memories.

Example of text pretranslation analysis made in SDL TRADOS program:
translation memory trados

This technology is most effective for translation of:
— large projects containing many similar fragments and terms: various scientific and technical texts, documents, financial and legal texts;
— single project by the group of several translators; in this case the TM technology allows to reach uniformity of terminology and style;
— new versions of previously translated texts; it significantly saves time for searching and translating new fragments;
— tagged files, i.e. files with web content (HTML, XML, etc.) and publishing system files (FrameMaker, Interleaf, Pagemaker, etc.).
At the same time, this technology is actually useless for translation of fiction, journalism or advertisements, in other words, all those texts, that require creative approach and extraordinary decisions.

This is the SDL Trados interface integrated into MS Word:
translation memory перевод

Brief overview of major means of computer aided translation

Nowadays we have several dozens of programs, which support work with the Translation Memory technology. Among them the best known are SDL Trados, Déjà vu, Wordfast, MultiTrans, STAR Transit, MemoQ and Omega-T. Except obvious factor, their price (Omega-T, for example is totally free), they distinguish by:
— text editing interface: some of the programs are integrated into the MS Word (e.g. all versions of SDL Trados up to SDL Trados 2007 inclusively), but others have their own interface;
— text segmentation algorithms (segments consist of sentences, phrases, or words);
— some additional functions (for example, MemoQ is distinct from others by possibility to evaluate percentage of text similarity, i.e. presence of repeating elements like words or phrases in it);
— possibility of integration of computer aided translation programs;
— number of supported file formats;
— possibility to work with translation memory on-line.

The choice of CAT programs often depends more on personal preferences of the translator or requirements of translation companies with which he/she works (for example, many Western translation companies work with TTX format, which is fully supported only by SDL Trados).

We think that it is no exaggeration to say that translators from LinguaContact translation company are capable to work professionally if not with all but with large majority of computer aided translation programs. We are constantly searching for new solutions based on the use of the Translation Memory technology. Furthermore, among the “translator’s helpers” we have at our disposal not only programs for work with translation memory, but also a lot of other software (for creation of term bases, conversion between different formats, etc.), without which we would never achieve the high quality and speed. LinguaContact has to its credit tens of thousands of pages translated with the use of TM software!
You may be sure that your text will be translated with high quality and in due time regardless of its format and complexity!

ISO 9001:2011

"Alba Longa" translation company was certified to the international quality standard ISO 9001: 2011

Great job!

★★★★★
LinguaContact provided me interpreting services, and it was satisfactory in terms of quality of the interpreter’s work, and punctuality of the manager. The interpreters of LinguaContact have lots of experience in many fields, are confident and courteous. Furthermore, the manager in LinguaContact is punctual, precise, and supportive. They do an excellent job and offer the most customer-oriented service in Saint Petersburg region. I can confidently recommend LinguaContact as a trustworthy and reliable interpretation service company, with experts in their field. ”
- Eunji Lee, Samsung Bioepis - Global Network Specialist

Expression of gratitude

★★★★★
We would like to thank LinguaContact translation company for our fruitful cooperation in translation and subtitling of TV shows. While working on the project, LinguaContact proved to be an accurate, goal-oriented and highly responsive team of professionals.”
- T.V. Zubov, Head of Line Production Department (Comedy Club Production)

Menu

Технология translation memory

В наш век стремительного развития информационных технологий и невиданного до сих пор тесного взаимодействия самых, казалось бы, отдалённых культур потребность в предоставлении быстрых и качественных переводческих услуг становится особенно актуальной. И не удивительно, что сфера письменного перевода, считавшаяся до недавнего времени территорией приложения исключительно человеческого интеллекта, с появлением уже первых компьютеров начала медленно, но заметно видоизменяться. И не могло быть иначе, ведь облегчение труда и постоянный поиск новых решений заложен в самой сути человека.

Как это часто бывает, технический прогресс в сфере коммуникаций не только поставил перед человечеством новые задачи, но и принёс с собой средства для их решения. В сфере письменных переводов одним из таких решений стала технология под названием Translation Memory (ТМ) и использующие её средства автоматизированного перевода (CAT — computer assisted translation).

translation memory

Важно заметить, что средства автоматизированного перевода ни в коем случае нельзя путать с машинным переводом. Это два совершенно разных подхода к автоматизации перевода компьютерными средствами, две совершенно разные «философии» переводческого процесса. В случае машинного перевода весь перевод — от начала и до конца — делает машина, компьютер, используя для этого имеющиеся в её распоряжении словари и алгоритмы перевода. Как следствие, результат такой работы далёк от того, что можно назвать «качественным переводом» ровно по той причине, что искусственный интеллект до сих не изобретен человечеством. Во втором же случае речь идёт только об инструментах, облегчающих и ускоряющих традиционный процесс человеческого перевода, который выполняется и контролируется непосредственно переводчиком. Бюро переводов «ЛингваКонтакт» никогда не занималось и не занимается машинным переводом.

Translation Memory (TM) или «память переводов» (ПП) представляет собой базу данных, где хранятся все ранее выполненные переводы с её использованием. Для удобства переводчика программы, использующие технологию Translation Memory, разбивают переводимый текст на так называемые сегменты — фрагменты текста, оригинал и перевод которых и хранится в памяти. За единицу сегментирования (минимальную единицу перевода) такие программы обычно принимают предложение или часть сложноподчинённого предложения, но в зависимости от настроек ею также могут быть слово, фраза либо целый абзац.

Принцип работы большинства средств автоматизированного перевода прост. Во время перевода программа, во-первых, «запоминает» все переводы сегментов, подтверждённые переводчиком, а во-вторых, постоянно сверяет каждый новый непереведённый сегмент с уже имеющимися в памяти переводов и в случае обнаружения идентичного или похожего сегмента «напоминает» его перевод. Таким образом, переводчику остаётся только подтвердить предложенный программой перевод или исправить/дополнить его в соответствии с контекстом.

Кроме собственно создания и работы с памятью переводов, современные программы автоматизированного перевода позволяют также:

— создавать и использовать глоссарии и словари пользователей;

— создавать памяти переводов из пар уже ранее переведенных текстов без использования средств автоматизированного перевода;

— проводить анализ текста и делать выборку из его ключевых слов, которые потом можно добавлять в глоссарии;

— осуществлять так называемый «предварительный перевод» (pretranslation) на основе уже имеющихся баз ПП.

Пример предпереводческого анализа текста, выполненного в SDL Trados:

translation memory trados

Наиболее эффективно применение данной технологии для перевода:

— больших проектов, содержащих много однотипных фрагментов и терминов: разного рода научных и технических текстов, документаций, финансовых и юридических текстов;

— одного проекта группой из нескольких переводчиков — в этом случае технология ПП позволяет добиться единообразия терминологии и стиля;

— новых версий уже ранее переведённых текстов — это значительно сокращает время на поиск и перевод новых фрагментов;

— файлов, содержащих разметку: файлы с веб-контентом (HTML, XML и др.) и файлы издательских систем (FrameMaker, Interleaf, Pagemaker и др.).

В то же время эта технология оказывается практически бесполезной при переводе художественных, публицистических и рекламных текстов. Другими словами, всего того, что требует творческого подхода и незаурядных решений.

Вот так выглядит интерфейс SDL Trados, интегрированной в MS Word:

translation memory перевод

Краткий обзор основных средств автоматизированного перевода

Сегодня на рынке представлено несколько десятков программ, поддерживающих работу с технологией Translation Memory. Самыми известными из них являются SDL Trados, Déjà vu, Wordfast, MultiTrans, STAR Transit, MemoQ и Omega-T. Кроме самого очевидного — цены (например, программа Omega-T является полностью бесплатной) — эти программные среды отличаются:

— интерфейсом редактирования текста: некоторые программы интегрируются в MS Word (например, все версии SDL Trados до версии SDL Trados 2007 включительно), другие же имеют свой собственный интерфейс;

— алгоритмами разбиения текста на сегменты (сегменты состоят из предложений, фраз или слов);

— наличием дополнительных функций (например, в программе MemoQ, в отличии от других, существует возможность оценки в процентном отношении однородности текста, т.е. наличия в нём повторяющихся элементов на уровне слов и фраз);

— возможностью интеграции средств машинного перевода;

— количеством поддерживаемых форматов файлов;

— наличием возможности работать с памятью переводов в режиме он-лайн.

Выбор CAT-программы часто зависит больше от личных предпочтений переводчика или требований бюро переводов, с которым он сотрудничает (к примеру, многие западные бюро переводов работают с форматом TTX, а он полноценно поддерживается только средой SDL Trados).

Думаем, не будет преувеличением сказать, что переводчики бюро переводов «ЛингваКонтакт» знают и владеют на высоком уровне если не всеми, то подавляющим большинством средств автоматизированного перевода. Мы находимся в постоянном поиске новых решений, основанных на применении технологии Translation Memory. Кроме того, в нашем арсенале «помощников переводчика» есть не только средства работы с памятью переводов, но также и множество других программ и утилит (создание терминологических баз, межформатная конвертация и пр.), без которых мы никогда не смогли бы добиться высокого качества и скорости работы. На счету «ЛингваКонтакт» десятки тысяч переведённых страниц с использованием TM-средств!

Вы можете быть уверены, что Ваш текст будет переведён качественно и в срок, в каком бы формате и какой бы сложности он ни был!

Полезные ссылки:

Он-лайн база ПП Ассоциации TAUS Data Association

Он-лайн база ПП Национального корпуса русского языка

База ПП для SDL Trados

В.Н. Грабовский. Технология Translation Memory

ISO 9001:2011

Система менеджмента качества сертифицирована по международному стандарту ISO 9001:2011

Great job

★★★★★
LinguaContact (ex. Alba Longa) provided me interpreting services in December 2014, and it was satisfactory in terms of quality of the interpreter’s work, and punctuality of the manager. The interpreters of LinguaContact have lots of experience in many fields, are confident and courteous. Furthermore, the manager in LinguaContact is punctual, precise, and supportive. They do an excellent job and offer the most customer-oriented service in Saint Petersburg region. I can confidently recommend LinguaContact as a trustworthy and reliable interpretation service company, with experts in their field.”
- Eunji Lee, Samsung Bioepis - Global Network Specialist

Expression of gratitude

★★★★★
We would like to thank LinguaContact translation company (ex. Alba Longa) for our fruitful cooperation in translation and subtitling of TV shows. While working on the project, LinguaContact proved to be an accurate, goal-oriented and highly responsive team of professionals.”
- T.V. Zubov, Head of Line Production Department (Comedy Club Production)
Menu